Home / News / Lawyers in the News / Lawyers In The News 09-05-11

Lawyers In The News 09-05-11

An American Bar Association committee chaired by Womble Carlyle attorney Jim Myrick has won the ABA’s 2011 Leadership Involvement Award, which honors outstanding leadership within the Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section. Myrick, who practices in Womble Carlyle’s Charleston office, has more than 20 years of experience as a business litigator.

Rosalyn W. Frierson, director of South Carolina Court Administration, has been named vice-chair of the board of directors of the National Center for State Courts. She also has been elected president of the Conference of State Court Administrators, a national organization that represents the top chief executives of the courts of the 50 states and U.S. territories, and of which the NCSC serves as executive staff. She will serve in both positions for one year.

Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd announces that two shareholders have relocated to different offices within the firm. Tara E. Nauful, leader of the financial institutions practice group, will be based in the Charleston office, while maintaining her existing practice in Columbia. Sarah P. Spruill, formerly based in Columbia, will now be primarily in Greenville. Spruill focuses on business and commercial matters, appeals, and complex litigation.

Wyche attorney Matthew T. Richardson was recently chosen as president-elect of the South Carolina Association for Justice. Richardson is based in Wyche’s Columbia office.

Wesley E. Henderson has joined Winters Law Firm in Chester. He is a 2010 graduate of the University of South Carolina School of Law, and served as an intern for U.S. Rep. Joe Wilson.

Andrew L. Richardson Jr. has joined McAngus Goudelock & Courie’s Columbia office. His practice will focus on business and construction litigation as well as general liability defense.

He received his law degree from the Charleston School of Law

Outside the law

C. William McGee of Gallivan White and Boyd has been named to the 2011 Greenville Advisory Board for South Carolina Bank and Trust.

Bobby Pearce, of Smith Moore Leatherwood’s Charleston office, has joined the nine-member board of directors of AAA Carolinas.

Chad N. Johnston of Willoughby & Hoefer has been named to the 2012 Leadership Columbia Class.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *